Board of trustees

The boards of trustees of the individual Fraunhofer Institutes act as purely advisory bodies to their institute’s management. The members come from academia, industry, and government agencies.

At present, the Fraunhofer ITEM board of trustees is made up of the following members:

(as at April 2021)

Chairman of the board of trustees


Dr. Eckhard von Keutz

Head of Translational Sciences, Bayer AG



Dr. Marcus Beiner

Deputy Head of the Department of Research, Innovation, Europe,
Head of the Division of Europe and International Affairs, Lower Saxony Ministry of Science and Culture

Prof. Dr. Paul-Georg Germann

Global Head of Chemical and Preclinical Safety (CPS), Biopharma, R&D, Discovery and Development Technologies, 
Merck Healthcare KGa

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Herr

Full professor and Head of the Department of Internal Medicine III, University Hospital Regensburg

Prof. Dr. Edith M. Hessel

Chief Scientific Officer, Eligo Bioscience (UK)

Prof. Dr. Michael Hildebrand

Managing Director, Hildebrand Pharma Consulting

Dr. Sylvia Jacobi

Corporate Toxicology Director, Albemarle Europe (Belgium)

Prof. Dr. Dieter Jahn

Head of the Institute of Microbiology, Technische Universität Braunschweig,
Spokesman of the Braunschweig Integrated Centre of Systems Biology – BRICS

Dr. Frank Kalkbrenner

Managing Director, Boehringer Ingelheim Corporate Venture Fund

Prof. Prof. h. c. Dr. Thomas Lenarz

Director of the Department of Otorhinolaryngology
and Director of Deutsches HörZentrum, Hannover Medical School

Prof. Dr. Michael P. Manns

President and Member of the Presidium responsible for the Division of Research and Teaching, Hannover Medical School

Ministerialrätin Dr. Evelyn Obele

Head of Division 614 – Health Research, Medical Technology, German Federal Ministry of Education and Research

Prof. Clive Page, OBE, Ph.D.

Head of Sackler Institute of Pulmonary Pharmacology,
School of Cancer and Pharmaceutical Science,
King’s College London (UK)

Prof. Dr. med. Julia Carolin Stingl

Full academic professor in Molecular Pharmacology,
full professor and Director of the Institute of Clinical Pharmacology,
University Hospital Aachen

Dr. Torsten Wagner

Senior Vice President, Corporate Technical Operations,
Merz Pharma GmbH & Co. KGaA



Prof. Dr. Werner Seeger

Director of the Department of Pulmonology, Internal Intensive Care, Infectiology, Gastroenterology, Nephrology, University Hospital Giessen UKGM

Dr. Karin Conde-Knape

Corporate Vice President Diabetes, Cardio-Renal and Translational Research, Novo Nordisk A/S (Denmark)